Tambelin follows the NSW Syllabus for English K-6 and teaches the outcomes specifically noted in the school’s Scope and Sequence. Tambelin teachers strive to give all children effective (and evidence-based) literacy instruction from kindergarten right through to year 6.

As recommended by three large-scale international inquiries*, this instruction is based around five essential components. These are often referred to as the Five Big Ideas:

  • Phonemic awareness
  • Phonics
  • Fluency
  • Vocab
  • Comprehension

*National Institute of Child Health and Development (NICHD), 2000.
National Inquiry into the Teaching of Literacy in Australia (Department of Education, Science and Training (DEST), 2005.
The Independent Review of the Reaching of Early Reading in the United Kingdom 9Rse, 2006.

Tambelin uses well-researched based programs called Spelling Mastery, Initial Lit, Multi Lit, Mini Lit, STARS and CARS. These direct instructional lessons that are well sequenced to give students the best opportunity learn, assess and reflect as they make progress in their learning.